Make your own free website on Tripod.com

The Church of St. John the Evangelist, Alsancak

;

History

The first Anglican Church was built about 1625 by the Levant Company for the use of its employees and other British residents of Smyrna. There has been an unbroken line of Chaplains resident in Izmir since 1630.

A second church building, built for the use of British inhabitants and forming part of the premises of the British Consulate General was consecrated in 1843, and named in honour of St. John the Evangelist. 

The present site was bought specifically for the purpose of building a church, after the British Consulate was rebuilt without provision for a place of worship. The building was built with money raised by local people. The foundation stone was laid in November 1898 and the church was completed in 1899. The church building seats about 150+ people.

The Bishop Collins Memorial Hall was erected in 1913 and is used as a multi-purpose facility. The Sunday School meets in the hall and the hall and kitchen are used every Sunday for after service fellowship and tea time, as well as for various meetings and events. The church office is next to the fellowship hall. A Vicarage was built next to the church in 1911 and is now leased to the British Government for use as the Consulate.

Porch Lectern
Main aisle of St. John's